Growing computer science graduates, state by state

Member of the NSF Broadening Participation in Computing Alliance

The National Science Foundation (NSF) supports ECEP through its Broadening Participation in Computing Alliance (BPC-A) program. The Expanding Computing Education Pathways (ECEP) Alliance seeks to increase the number and diversity of students in the pipeline to computing and computing-intensive degrees by supporting state-level computing education reforms. Through interventions, pathways, partnerships and models that drive state-level computing education change, ECEP supports states as they work to align their state efforts with the national vision for computer science for all.

A 17-state alliance for sharing pathways to success

The ECEP Alliance includes 16 states – Alabama, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Nevada, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia and the U.S. territory of Puerto Rico.

ECEP alliance members have achieved significant improvements in computing education through educational policy reform, equity and diversity initiatives including outreach to diverse stakeholders, inter-state collaboration, teacher professional development, and the creation of state steering committees to lead the efforts.

Resources and services to expand computing education

ECEP works closely with the Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA), the National Center for Women in Information Technology (NCWIT), and the STARS Alliance to support statewide efforts leading to an increase in the diversity of students experiencing CS education in K-12 and beyond.

ECEP also relies on and deploys experts in computing education, promotes state-level computer science education reform, trains educators to provide professional development in computing, supports summer computing camps, and offers advice and tools in higher education transfer and program evaluation.